Power surge boosts Sweetwater Valley - The San Diego Union-Tribune

posted on 08 Aug 2015 14:30 by aboardrubbish3789
15 and will probably be televised by simply ESPN.

Year: League

"And cracked 27 bats," boasts manager Ward Lannom.

This year's West Region tournament features 1 significant alteration. Lannom isn't getting into that will strategy. win your tournament as well as Sweetwater Valley will become the third san Diego County team in seven many years to become able to advance to the little League Globe Series inside South Williamsport, Pa.

Little League Majors All-Star teams (11- and also 12-year-olds) from Hillcrest County to reach the actual West Region tournament:

1980: North Park Sunshine

1955: Hillcrest North Shore

Norcross can end up being a freelance writer.

When the actual Sweetwater Valley little League All-Stars hit the path with regard to games, just about all 13 players pile directly into an RV dubbed the particular Dingermobile. His team mashes the actual ball and in which he desires just about all in order to know.

1961: El Cajon/La Mesa Northern *

Six teams will probably be rivalling in the West Region. Monday. The other four are usually through San Jose; Chandler, Ariz.; Henderson, Nev.; as well as Santa Clara, Utah.

Pitcher/outfielder Antonio Andrade leads the bashing using 15 homers, followed by pitcher/third baseman Levi Mendez together with 11, shortstop Nate Nankil (six) as well as catcher Walker Lannom (five). Your ride is appropriately nicknamed.

1952: North Park National

Won West Region tournament to achieve Small League world Series.

Reached little League world Series before West Region tournament ended up being inaugurated throughout 1957.

1982: Chula Vista South Bay

It's a http://downinthevalley.co.uk new double-elimination tournament until the championship game, that is scheduled with regard to 6 p.m. in the actual past, teams played throughout pools prior to advancing. Aug. Tuesday.

In posting any 12-0 record along with outscoring opponents 179-35, Sweetwater Valley features clubbed 57 residence runs.

1981: Escondido National *

1959: La Jolla

Riding individuals dingers, the 12- and also 13-year-olds from Bonita have advanced for the West Region tournament inside San Bernardino, exactly where they will open play in 7:30 p.m. The loss to be able to Hawaii will end up being sending Sweetwater Valley directly into an elimination game with 4:30 p.m. Sunday contrary to become able to the Hawaii champion via Waipahu.


2005: Rancho Buena Vista *

2007: Solana Beach

2001: Oceanside American *. This kind of year features bracket play, that makes it more difficult to setup starting pitchers because teams won't understand whom they're playing in advance.

2013: Chula Vista Eastlake *

* Won little League world Series.

The additional players in Sweetwater Valley are Ariel Armas, Braiz Ramirez, Cameron Barbabosa, Isaac Artalejo, Jacob Baptista, Mark Cervantes, Nick Maldonado and also Preston Fleming.

1977: El Cajon Western *

Says Lannom, a new revenue manager pertaining to san Diego Electric Sign, "I want each as well as every manager for you to Google us as well as go, 'Oh my gosh, what am i acquiring ourselves into?' "

1991: El Cajon American

1957: La Mesa Northern *

2014: Encinitas

The 27 cracked bats, says Lannom, certainly tend to be a testament certainly not simply to how tough the gamers hit your baseball, but also how often.

2015: Sweetwater Valley

2009: Chula Vista Park View *

and%20court/personal%20webpage/images/austria_valley.jpg" width="290" />

1970: Coronado

1969: Spring Valley Cajon de Oro

"It is the reason our practice," he says. "We just hit and hit and hit a few more."

Many all-star teams try to help keep an NFL-like secrecy with regards to his or her teams heading into the regionals, forcing opponents to play Internet sleuths to locate out details about players. Dante Schmid, Andrade and Mendez handle the majority of the particular pitching.

With a earn over Hawaii, Sweetwater Valley will face Nevada from 4:30 p.m